My Love & Hate For Fantasy Football

Chris Schisler

Fantasy football manages to be the most awesome thing ever and the most annoying hobby you have. It consumes hours of my life every week, and only some of them are enjoyable. My relationship with fantasy football is complicated. I love and hate it.

Every fantasy football league begins the same way. It begins with an online draft that takes forever. There is always at least one guy determined to start something, a guy who thinks every pick is taking him all the way and a guy who swears he knows nothing though he has prepared relentlessly. And after the 10th round people take forever, and each round seems longer than the previous run-on-sentence.

Don’t get me wrong, I can’t imagine a season without fantasy. I love the analytical process of making your dream squad. Pouring through a wealth of statistics and examining the weekly match ups…that is fun.

Fantasy teaches fans to think in terms of production. People estimate which of their players will put up the most points based on a bevy of real life scenarios. For example one may decide to start a lesser running back because his regular starter is playing the stingy Seattle Seahawks. I am all for people preparing for what they will see on Sundays. Fantasy football helps fans do this.

My biggest issue with fantasy football that requires absolutely no skill. The most casual fan (who knows about 1/3 of the players) can luck out and win. Sure, knowledge helps but luck wins out in fantasy. There are many ways to screw up. You can draft poorly, you can make dumb pick ups, anything you want. Winning however is as easy as sitting down and flipping a coin.

Fantasy football changes the way people watch football. This is partly a great thing as its brought more eyeballs on the best sport in the world. The problem is people get more wrapped up in their fantasy lineup than their favorite team. How many times have you heard some rationalizing for this phenomenon: “I hope the Ravens win but Antonio Brown catches 6 passes for 120 yards and a touchdown.”

I can’t stand when people put fantasy football in front of reality. I can’t stand it when people who don’t even know who Randle Cobb is win a championship. There are so many things I can’t stand about fantasy football. That being said I am addicted.

3 comments

  • I commissioned a fantasy league for six years back in the day before it became as popular as it is now. However I got tired of my loyalties being divided, and in truth I probably wasn’t very good at it, so I gave it up and never looked back. Now I root on my Ravens every week without reservation and don’t miss hoping they win, but that my fantasy QB would rack up big points against them.

  • Last year was my first season in a long time without FF. I missed our draft party but that was all. I was able to enjoy CFB and NFL without looking back. I don’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

